Puns, Palindromes, and Back to School Shopping

image

This is my new shirt. I love it. I guess I’ve always been a fan of puns and palindromes, and when I saw this shirt, I knew I had to get it. I often think about inserting puns into my everyday speech (punny, isn’t it?) but I really never think about palindromes. I mean, I know the basic ones. Mom. Dad. Wow. Racecar. But TACOCAT? That came out of nowhere.

When you think about it, palindromes sneak into everyday life. When you talk to your friend Hannah. When you take your kayak out. When you check the stats.They really are everywhere! Puns are out there too, but not as much. You really have to think to use a pun. I used to love to use puns for valentine’s day cards.

The 2 longest palindrome in the world are: solutomaattimittaamotulos and saippuakivikauppias. Both words are swedish. Solutomaattimittaamotulos means “the result from a measurement laboratory for tomatoes”, and saippuakivikauppias means soapstone seller.

Check out this palindrome website for more palindromes!

http://www.palindromelist.net/longest/

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Hoary Puns for Educated Laughs | SERENDIPITY

I bet you have something you want to say... Go ahead!

Follow LibraryLassie on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 80 other followers

