Songs And Stories: Finding The Connection

As many of  you might know, the Grammys were last night. I tried to watch them, but I guess my luck wasn’t good, because I couldn’t even get a signal. To tell the truth, the real reason I wanted to watch the Grammys was because of all the nominations Lorde got. I really love her music. I feel it really sends a good message, and I also feel I really connect with the music. I love how it is kind of bare, that there is almost nothing in the songs but a drumbeat and a voice. I really like that. But it’s kind of awesome how a lot of new songs these days really send a message, even if its kind of muted. But that’s the problem. Songs can send any kind of message.

But it’s not always good. Consider the lyrics to Summertime Sadness, by Lana Del Ray. “I got my red dress on tonight, dancing in the dark in the pale moonlight. Done my hair real big beauty queen style, high heels off, I’m feeling alive.” So you need a red dress, a big hairdo, and a moonlight dance to make you feel special. Message received: you need to be pretty and have a male by your side.

“Im feeling electric tonight, cruising down the coast going ’bout 99. Got my bad baby by my heavenly side, I know if I go, I’ll die happy tonight.” Drive cars fast and dangerously, get drunk and date bad boys. I don’t know about you, but that’s what I picked up from this song. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not dissing Lana Del Ray. I’m just saying her songs aren’t exactly the best message. And I’m saying this because our unconscious mind processes information everyday. But this means we get negatively influenced because of media and songs like that. Our brain just stores those ideas away. Not good for us. Not at all.

But songs like Royals can positively influence us. “But everybody’s like Cristal, Maybach, diamonds on your timepiece, jet planes, islands, tigers on a gold leash, we don’t care. We aren’t caught up in your love affair.” This part kind of suggests disdain for all the things society values. Those things don’t really matter. Lorde knows that. And she recognizes how songs scan affect you. “And ever song is like gold teeth, grey goose, tripin’ in the bathroom. Bloodstains, ball gowns, trashing the hotel room. We don’t care, were driving Cadillacs in our dreams.” She gets it. Now it’s up to us to follow her example.

Please let me know what songs send you a message!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Professor Pi
    Jan 27, 2014 @ 19:33:15

    Well, I am kind of a person who dislikes the music part of society. I agree with the lyrics, but I still don’t like the song. You see, with most people, if a song or type of music gets played constantly, you like that type of song. My prefrence is the speed of the song. If it’s slow enough that I can understand it then, I listen to the lyrics.

    Reply

I bet you have something you want to say... Go ahead!

Follow LibraryLassie on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 80 other followers

